Latest Posts





MN High School Theater Program is 1 of 50 Nationwide to Receive $10K Grant

The show will go on at Pine Island High School in Pine Island, Minnesota. The home of the Panthers was one of fifty high schools­—and the only one in Minnesota—to rise above a total of 1,000 applicants nationwide and receive a $10,000 grant from NBC to support its theater department.

NBC’s R.I.S.E (Recognizing and Inspiring Student Expression) America Project partnered with the Educational Theatre Foundation to provide grants “designed to assist theater programs with production expenses, technical equipment, master classes and other needs,” according to USA Today.

Schools interested in the grant opportunity had to meet certain requirements and submit a video and essay to qualify.

…high schools were required to have a theater program or champion of theater arts on the teaching staff, and a program endangered due to budget constraints. Each school submitted a video about its program and a 500-word essay on why it deserved the money and what would be done with it.

The grants were awarded in sync with NBC’s premiere of Rise, a new drama series about a dedicated teacher who takes over a small-town high school’s lackluster theater department.

I went to a small high school myself, but our theater program was far from ho-hum. Whether I was working behind the scenes or performing on stage, I witnessed the importance of having theater and performing arts in education. As a teacher, I took my students on live theater field trips, giving them an experience they may not have otherwise had or ever thought they would enjoy. It also was an effective way to teach academic content.

Congrats to Pine Island and the 49 other high schools that can continue providing students with theater education, and thanks to NBC, for encouraging students to use their creative young minds “to reach higher, go further—and RISE.”




Upcoming Events

  • Morning in Minnesota: St. Cloud

    Location: St. Cloud

    Sign up HERE! Courtyard by Marriott St. Cloud 404 West Saint Germain Street St. Cloud, MN, 56301 Please join Center of the American Experiment on Tuesday, July 21 for breakfast with Center policy fellow and education expert Catrin Wigfall as she explains K-12 education in the state and its persistent disparities despite decades of increased spending. Following her presentation, Catrin will lead a Q&A session. 7:30 AM Check In and Breakfast 8:00 AM Presentation 9:00 AM Conclude   Catrin Wigfall is a Policy Fellow at Center of the American Experiment. She is also the director of EducatedTeachersMN and EmployeeFreedomMN. Catrin’s…

    Register Now
  • Morning in Minnesota: Marshall

    Location: Marshall Golf Club

      Sign up for this event HERE! Please join Center of the American Experiment on Thursday, July 16 at Marshall Golf Club for a breakfast with Center economist, John Phelan, as he discusses Minnesota’s economic future. Following his presentation, John will lead a Q&A session. 7:30 AM Check In and Breakfast 8:00 AM Presentation 9:00 AM Conclude John Phelan is a graduate of Birkbeck College, University of London, where he earned a BSc in Economics, and of the London School of Economics where he earned an MSc. He worked in finance for ten years before becoming a professional economist. He…

    Register Now
  • 2020 Annual Dinner Featuring Sarah Huckabee Sanders- Now in September!

    Location: Minneapolis Convention Center Ballroom 1301 2nd Ave S Minneapolis, MN 55403

    NEW SEPTEMBER DATE: We have made the difficult decision to once again move the date of this event. We will now host our Annual Dinner on Saturday, September 19th. All tickets bought for the April 4th, or June 18th dates are transferrable. We are so sorry for any inconvenience this has caused, but we look forward to seeing you on September 19! Direct any questions to Kathryn Hinderaker (kathryn.hinderaker@americanexperiment.org or 612-428-7005).   American President: The Unorthodox Approach to Politics that Changed the World. Sarah Huckabee Sanders served as White House Press Secretary for President Donald J. Trump from 2017 to…

    Register Now