FTX tries to claw back donations made to MN politicians

Lawyers for the failed Bahamian cryptocurrency exchange FTX are attempting to recover political contributions made to American politicians.

Indicted CEO Sam Bankman-Fried was the 2nd largest donor to Democratic candidates during the most recent election cycle. FTX executive Ryan Salame gave large amounts to Republicans, enough to crack the top-ten list of Republican donors.

A number of Minnesota names are on the reported list of recipients of FTX-linked donations. As we previously documented, Democratic Sen. Tina Smith and Rep. Angie Craig received donations from Bankman-Fried.

The list of recipients of donations from Salame includes Republican Reps. Tom Emmer and Brad Finstad.

The Minnesota DFL party also appears on a list of FTX recipients.

FTX lawyers have given recipients until the end of the month to respond.