Teachers: You do not have to meet with a union rep before resigning this week.
Memo to teachers: You have a 7-day window to resign from Education Minnesota this week. For the first time, if you resign, you will not pay a “fair-share” fee. That is over and done since Janus v. AFSCME but you must act before Sunday.
This is what we are hearing: Minnesota teachers who are choosing to exercise their First Amendment rights and resign from union membership are being told around the Twin Cities that they need to meet with their local union official before they can opt-out.
This meeting is not required under the law, teaching contract, or under the union membership card; it is either a harassing tactic or maybe the local rep genuinely thinks a meeting is required, or just hopes to change your mind. Your decision to opt-out is a private decision, and you are under no obligation to meet with anyone to discuss your decision.
There is nothing the union can do if you resign without a meeting.
If you follow these instructions, your resignation should be effective October 1. Just be sure to resign during the 7-day window this week; to avoid arguments with the union, get your letter to Education Minnesota postmarked by Saturday the 29th, and email the letter to the state union, the local rep and your employer so you have a dated receipt. It seems like a lot of steps, but it should be an effective resignation.
Be sure to buy a liability policy—a good idea for any professional. All your other important benefits like pension and health care come from your employer, not the union. And as long as the union is the exclusive rep at your school, you will be covered by the union contract. You cannot be treated differently by your employer or your union. It is the law.